Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ebsco Discovery Service
Single Search for most all of the library's information resources.
Bowling Library retains many print periodicals including academic journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Scientific titles include:
- Journal of Chemical Education
- Mathematics Teacher
- Scientific American
- Scientific American Mind
- Teaching Children Mathematics
Please see a library staff member if you need assistance locating a title. Direct all interlibrary loan requests to Dr. George Washburn.
National Audubon Society
National Audubon Society
The National Audubon Society's mission is to conserve and restore natural ecosystems, focusing on birds, other wildlife, and their habitats for the benefit of humanity and the earth’s biological diversity.
Recommended library databases
Academic Search Premier
EBSCO database boasting comprehensive multidisciplinary content. Subjects include literature, biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and philosophy, science and technology, and veterinary science.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
This comprehensive research database provides full text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
National Agricultural Library
The National Agricultural Library is one of four national libraries
of the United States and houses one of the world's largest collections
devoted to agriculture and its related sciences.
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubChem is a public chemical information repository in the National Center for Biotechnology Information. It provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical similarity search tool.
How to Request an Item for Interlibrary Loan
Order what we don't have from someone else - FOR FREE!
We try to keep the Interlibrary Loan process simple.
Essentially, you need 2 things to make an Interlibrary Loan Request:
- Information about the item: title, author, publisher, ISBN, ISSN, etc.
- Dr. Washburn's email address: firstname.lastname@example.org
In more detail, here is what you need to know:
- When you are looking for an item, remember to check WorldCat Discovery and Find Full-Text Journals to see if we have the item in a different database.
- Most databases have a "Request this Item" feature. Fill out the request form and click send.
- If a database does not have a request option, you can always email the citation to Dr. Washburn.
- With all communication please remember to include your name.
- Once Dr. Washburn receives your request, he will process it.
- Interlibrary loans can take up to 3 weeks to arrive, though most arrive in the span of a week.
- The length of the loan is determined by the lending institution, which will be indicated on your paperwork.
ACS Journal search
Search the American Chemical Society for current and past scholarship in chemistry. ACS publishes a host of journals, many with open access. If you need an article, send Dr. George Washburn an email, complete with the citation and your contact information.
This is an open project from the National Library of Medicine and other Federal agencies.
PubChem, released in 2004, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. More information about using each component database may be found using the links in the homepage.
Science Direct provides indexing to more than 10 million science articles from over 2,500 journals, plus over 6,000 ebooks. If you find a reference to an article or book that you want -- don't pay for it! You can request a free copy via the interlibrary loan service.